
Strange… A board that gets

smaller and two players playing

with the same marbles... In the

beginning you’ll have to get

used to it, but once you do,

you’ll find out that there are

many ways to get the game

under control. Play the right

marble at the right place at the

right moment, and you’ll be

leading the dance!

A CONTENTS
- 6 white, 8 grey and 10 black marbles

- 37 round board pieces

- 1 rulebook

B AIM
You must try to capture:

- either 2 marbles of each color

- or 3 white marbles

- or 4 grey marbles

- or 5 black marbles

The winner is the first player to achieve one of these

goals.

C PREPARATION
1. You need 5 white, 7 grey and 9 black marbles to start.

These marbles are the "pool". (You have 1 more

marble of each color for the advanced version. See

point G. below: TOURNAMENT RULES.) 

2. Use the 37 round board pieces to assemble a

hexagonal game board.

3. Draw lots to determine who will go first.

D MAKING A MOVE
When it is your turn, there are two possible moves: 

1. You place a marble on the board and then remove

a board piece.

2. You capture one or more marbles.

PLACING A MARBLE AND 

REMOVING A BOARD PIECE

1. When it is your turn, you first select a marble from

the pool. Next you must place it on the board. You

may select any color you wish and you may place

the marble on any vacant board piece.

Important: the marbles, in the pool as well as on

the board, belong to both players (i.e. neither you,

nor your opponent have your "own" marbles to

play with).

2. After you have placed a marble on the board, you

must remove a "free" board piece. "Free" means: the
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A game about making sacrifices !
The third game of Project GIPF. For 2 players.

DIAGRAM 1: The board at the start of the game.
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piece must be vacant and it must be positioned at

the edge of the board. In other words, there may

not be a marble on it and you must be able to

remove it from the sides without disturbing the

position of the remaining board pieces. 

DIAGRAM 2: only the board pieces 

with an arrow may be removed.

3. Placing a marble and removing a board piece is

one turn. You must do both. However, it may occur

that you cannot remove any of the vacant board

pieces without disturbing the position of the other

board pieces. In this case you do not remove a

board piece (i.e. your move ends after having placed

a marble.) 

Note: don’t stack the board pieces that you remove

on top of each other. It is better to use them to put

your captured marbles on (see below).

CAPTURING MARBLES

1. Capturing is compulsory; you must do it if you can. 

2. To capture a marble, you must jump over it with

another marble (i.e. as in checkers). You may only

jump over a marble on an adjacent board piece. You

may jump in any direction if there is a vacant board

piece behind the marble that you intend to capture.

3. The color of the marbles is of no importance when

capturing: you may jump with any marble over

any other marble, no matter the color, no matter

whether you or your opponent placed it on the

board.

For example: you put a white marble on the board.

A few moves later your opponent places a grey

marble next to it. There is a vacant board piece

behind both marbles. You may select the option you

think is most advantageous: jumping with the

white marble over the grey one or the other way

around.

4. If you jump over a marble and you have the

possibility to jump over a second one, then you

must do so, no matter in which direction you make

the second (or third) jump.

5. If you can capture different numbers of marbles (e.g.

in one direction 1 marble and in another direction

2 marbles), you may freely chose which possibility

you’ll go for. 

DIAGRAM 3: 

the arrows indicate the different ways to

capture.

1 fi 2 and 3

1 fi 2, 4 and 5

2 fi 1

3 fi 2 and 1

6. Capturing one or more marbles counts as a

complete move. In other words: that turn you may

not place a marble, nor may you remove a board

piece. 

E ISOL ATING MARBLES
1. If you succeed in isolating one or more board pieces

from the main part of the board, you may claim

the isolated pieces, including the marbles on them.

Most of the times it will concern one board piece,

thus one marble, but it is not limited to one. This

"claiming" should be seen as a second way of

capturing marbles, but it is not compulsory. 
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DIAGRAM 4: if you remove the board piece

indicated by the arrow, you capture the marble

on the isolated board piece.

2. You can only capture marbles this way if there are

no vacant board pieces in the isolated group. So,

you may claim one or more board pieces when

you either put a marble on the last vacant board

piece of an already isolated group, or remove the

board piece through which a group of occupied

board pieces gets isolated. 

Note: you may capture marbles this way as a result

of a move; it is not itself a move.

F END OF THE GAME
As mentioned at the beginning of these rules: the

first player to obtain either 2 marbles of each color,

or 3 white marbles, or 4 grey marbles, or 5 black

marbles wins the game. 

G SPECIAL C ASES
1. It may occur that there are no more marbles in the

pool before the game has ended. In this case you

must continue with your captured marbles. As with

selecting a marble from the pool, you may choose

any color of your captured marbles to play with -

and this goes on until one of the two players gets

a winning set of marbles.

2. In the extreme event (not to exclude the possibility)

that all the board pieces would be occupied before

either of the players achieves one of the set goals,

it is the one who makes the last move who wins.

In fact, he may claim all of the remaining board

pieces, including the marbles, for this situation is

to be seen as an isolated group of occupied board

pieces. 

DIAGRAM 5: a bit of strategy. Player A puts a

black marble on board piece 1 and removes

board piece 2. By doing so, he forces Player B to

jump over (and to capture) that black marble.

The fact that it is a black marble, means that

Player B hasn’t a winning combination yet.

Then player A goes again: he puts a white

marble on board piece 3 and removes 4. He

captures a white and a black marble on the

isolated board pieces and wins!

H TOURNAMENT RULES
1. The tournament version of ZÈRTZ is played with

all 24 marbles: 6 whites, 8 greys and 10 blacks.

The rules remain exactly as they are, but to win

you must either obtain 3 marbles of each color,

or 4 whites, or 5 greys, or 6 blacks.  

2. If you select a marble of a certain color from the

pool, you must play that marble. 

3. Capturing is compulsory, meaning that you may

force the opponent to take back his last move if he

didn’t do so. (Taking back a move includes putting

back the removed board piece.) 

For example: you put a marble on the board and

create an opportunity for a capture. Your opponent

does not capture; he takes a marble, places it on

the board and next removes a board piece. You

may have a look at the new situation and either do

the capturing yourself, or force your opponent to

take back his move and oblige him capture. (If you

don’t ask your opponent to take back his move

and you don’t capture either, then it is your

opponent, when it is his turn again, who may force

you to take back your last move.)

Enjoy the game!
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A PROJECT GIPF
Project GIPF consists of a series of 6 games. GIPF

is the first and central game of this series; TAMSK

is the second game, ZÈRTZ is the third.

Through Project GIPF, we will provide you with a

system that enables you to combine games - not

only games from the project itself, but literally

every possible existing game or challenge. This

system is based upon the use of "potentials". Each

game in Project GIPF will introduce its own new

potential. 

B THE GIPF -POTENTIAL S
Potentials are additional GIPF-pieces with the

"potential" of a particular move. You can use them

to change GIPF into many different versions and,

on top of that, to connect other games to GIPF. The

aim of the project is to offer you a large variety of

combinations, so that you can decide for yourself

which version of GIPF you want to play at any given

moment. 

It is very important to understand that these

potentials are optional. GIPF, TAMSK and ZÈRTZ

are, above all, three separate games and they should

always be treated as such. That aside, if you'd like

to add an extra twist to GIPF or if you feel like

playing a combination of games, you may do so

through using potentials. 

Using potentials in GIPF is not obvious; it is

something you'll have to get used to. And you'll only

get used to it through being surprised by your

opponent's potentials. This is a hard way to learn,

indeed, but also the most effective one. Hold on

for a few games, and suddenly you'll notice how each

of the potentials will open up GIPF in a completely

different way.

C THE ZÈR TZ-POTENTIAL
TAMSK introduced the TAMSK-potential, a piece

through which you can obtain an extra move; now

ZÈRTZ introduces the ZÈRTZ-potential, a piece that

will enable you to "jump". The free pieces you'll find

in the ZÈRTZ-box serve as examples. Add them to

GIPF and you'll find out why they are called

"potentials": you bring them into play, but you

don't know whether you will use them or not. They

can be captured or neutralised, sometimes you

must remove them from the board yourself - and

sometimes you'll take advantage of their special

power… Just keep one thing in mind: as long as they

are on the board, they remain a threat for your

opponent. The more potentials you add to GIPF, the

more "potential" danger you create on the board.

You'll be amazed how much they'll influence your

(and your opponent's) strategy…

A present: you will find 3 white and 
3 black ZÈRTZ-potentials enclosed.

potential
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potential

THE USE OF THE ZÈR TZ-POTENTIAL

ZÈRTZ has the potential 
of a "jump" !

ZÈRTZ-potentials 

- just like TAMSK-potentials -

are pieces that you can add to

GIPF, in particular when

playing the tournament

version. We advise you not to

start playing with potentials

until you have mastered the

basic strategies of GIPF. The

more you first enjoy GIPF as a

game in itself, the more you

will enjoy adding potentials to

it. 

To avoid misunderstandings, the different pieces are

defined as follows:

• A basic piece is a single piece.

• A GIPF-piece is 2 basic pieces stacked upon each

other.

• A potential is an extra piece that represents the

ZÈRTZ-potential.

• A loaded piece is a basic piece with a ZÈRTZ-

potential on top of it.

Note: the side with the furrow is the top side

of a basic piece! A potential must be stacked

upon that side!

A GENERAL USE
1. Before you start a game of GIPF, you and your

opponent must agree on how many potentials you

are going to use. You should play with a minimum

of 3 ZÈRTZ-potentials each. (If you want information

about how to obtain more ZÈRTZ-potentials: see the

frame at the end of these rules.)

2. You must stack a potential on a basic piece before

bringing it into play. A basic piece with a potential

on top of it is called a "loaded piece" and is to be

introduced with a regular move: put it on a black

dot and push it onto a spot. You may not introduce

a ZÈRTZ-potential as a separate piece. 

3. All your loaded pieces must be in play before you

start playing with single basic pieces. For example:

if you play with 3 potentials, they must be stacked

upon the first three basic pieces you play. (When

you play the tournament version: first introduce

your GIPF-pieces, next play the loaded pieces and

continue with basic pieces. When adding ZÈRTZ-

potentials and TAMSK-potentials to GIPF, you must

first introduce the ZÈRTZ-potentials.)

Note: potentials that are not brought into play

before you play your first basic piece, are lost;

they go out of the game.

4. A loaded piece may be pushed by other pieces and

can be captured just like any other piece on the

board. 
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potential
5. You do not have to take a loaded piece from the

board when it is part of a row that must be captured.

So, just like a GIPF-piece, you may leave it on its

spot. (Exception: see point 6 below.) If you decide

to remove one of your own loaded pieces, you

return the basic piece to your reserve but you lose

the potential; it goes out of the game without being

used. A potential can never return to the

reserve!

6. A row of 4 GIPF-pieces may remain on the board

(cf. GIPF rules). This is not the case when 4 loaded

pieces are lined up, nor when one or more loaded

pieces form a row of 4 in combination with solely

GIPF-pieces. Any such row must be "broken": you

must remove at least one GIPF-piece or loaded

piece.

Very important: GIPF-pieces remain the most

important pieces in play. A piece loaded with a

potential is not to be considered as a GIPF-piece.

You may lose all your potentials, but never all your

GIPF-pieces.

B USE OF THE SPECIAL ABILIT Y
1. The ZÈRTZ-potential has the ability to jump over

other pieces. Making a jump counts as a turn,

meaning that you make a move with a potential

instead of playing with a piece out of your reserve. 

Note: the use of  the TAMSK-potential is connected

to a condition: you must push a piece loaded with

a TAMSK-potential onto the central spot , in order

to be allowed to use it. This is not the case with

the ZÈRTZ-potential. You may make use of your

ZÈRTZ-potentials in play at any moment during

the game - this is, of course, when it is your turn.

2. The use is simple: take the potential from the basic

piece and jump. By doing so, you must take notice

of the following:

•You must jump over at least one piece on an

adjacent spot. If you jump over more than one

piece, they must be lined up along one and the

same line.

•A jump always ends on the first vacant spot in

the jumped direction (i.e. you may not jump over

empty spots).

•You may jump over both your own and your

opponent’s pieces of any kind  (i.e. over basic

pieces, loaded pieces and GIPF-pieces).

•The potential must remain in play; you may not

jump onto a black dot.

Note: a jump is a particular move, not a second

way of capturing. Pieces that are jumped over

remain on the board. 

3. The consequences of a jump with a potential are

exactly the same as when playing with a piece out

of the reserve. E.g. capturing pieces can be the

result of a jump.

4. The particular ability of a potential can be used

only once. As a single piece ( i.e. after you made a

jump with it) it has no more special power. This

means that you may not leave it on the board when

it is part of a row that must be captured; it must

be removed. The potential goes out of the game,

no matter whether it is you or your opponent who

takes it from the board.

5. It may happen, towards the end of a game, that you

have no more basic pieces in reserve, but still have

one or more loaded pieces on the board. You may

continue the game by making use of your potentials

- at least if they are in a position that they can be

used. I.e. use of a potential counts as a move in its

own right.

The ZÈRTZ-potential can be used with or

without connecting ZÈRTZ to GIPF. If you play

without ZÈRTZ, you may use the special ability

of the potential as described above, without

further notice. First try it out at least a few

times like that before you start combining

games.

C COMBINATION 
WITH OTHER GAMES

1. If you want to connect the game ZÈRTZ  to GIPF,

you and your opponent must first come to an

agreement. GIPF is the game you play, ZÈRTZ is the

game that will affect the strategy. The agreement

you make regards how many times you may try to

"neutralise" the use of each other's potentials and

under which conditions. For example: you both

play with 3 potentials; you agree that you may try

to neutralise one of each other's potentials (not

necessarily the first one that you like would to use

to make a jump, unless that, too, is part of the

agreement).

2. Neutralising a ZÈRTZ-potential: 

The use of the ZÈRTZ-potential is originally linked

to the game ZÈRTZ. If you want to make a jump

with one of your potentials, your opponent may

try to prevent you from jumping through

challenging you to play ZÈRTZ: interrupt the running

game of GIPF, put the board aside and play a game
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of ZÈRTZ. If you win, you may execute your jump;

if your opponent wins, you lose the potential you

intended to use (it goes out of the game) and the

game of GIPF continues. 

Note: when you want to make a move with a

potential, but your opponent succeeds in

neutralising it, then you haven’t really made a move

yet, meaning that your turn isn’t over. You must

make another move - you may even try a second

time to use a potential.

3. Playing ZÈRTZ to enforce or neutralise the use of a

ZÈRTZ-potential is just our suggestion. You can

connect any existing game or challenge to a

potential, as long as it is agreed before you start

playing GIPF. You can flip a coin or roll a die; you

may also propose a game of chess or even another

game of GIPF (if you have a second board); you may

play pool or darts, race around the park, organise

any contest you want, as long as it is clear at the

end whether you may or may not use the potential.

All depends on what you feel like doing and how

much time you have. If you prefer to end the game

of GIPF the same day or evening, then choose short

challenges; if you are prepared to spread it over

several days, weeks, or even months… well, then the

world may be too small.

Note: whatever the game, the challenger must win

to neutralise the use of a potential; a tie is not

sufficient.

Amaze yourself! Be inspired! Use your
 imagination! Do the GIPF and look
out for the potentials that are yet to

come!

If you want to increase the possibilities of

playing GIPF even more, look for GIPF Set No.

1 

(item no. 49052, containing 12 TAMSK-

 potentials), or  contact Schmidt Spiele to 

obtain more ZÈRTZ-potentials: 

Schmidt Spiele + Freizeit GmbH, Ballinstrasse 16,

D-12359 Berlin, Germany.

http://www.schmidtspiele.de

http://www.gipf.com

E-mail: info@gipf.com

potential
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