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Once there was a young adventurer who rescued a mighty  
Djinn trapped in the heart of a swamp. Together, they built  

the magical city of Cardia.

Today, life in the city is flourishing. Yet four factions are 
struggling for power: the Rebellion  from the swamp, the 

scholars from the Academy , the Guild  with their mechanical 
contraptions, and the Dynasty , descendants of the adventurer.

Whoever wins the powerful signet rings, and thus the favour  
of the factions, becomes the next ruler of Cardia. Play your 

cards right and outsmart your opponent!
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Thanks for buying a quality product. If you have 
any questions or complaints, please reach out to 
our customer service at service@cundco.de.

DUEL FOR V1

Here, you’re ready 

to start playing!

components
2 x 32 Character 
cards

4 Summary 
cards

8 Location  
cards

22 Modifiers with different fronts and backs (8x1, 8x3, and 6x5)

12 Signets 6 Ongoing tokens
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Setup
Sit opposite each other. Place all signets , modifiers ??  and 

ongoing tokens  within easy reach at one end of the table  
(see image above).

Place the location cards in a face-down stack next to the supply. 
The chevron on the back points to the other side of the table, 
indicating the direction of play. For your first games, ignore the effect on 
the front (p. 8, p. 13). 

Take all character cards marked with a I in the lower right 
corner. Each player takes the 16 cards with the same back 
design. Place the other 32 cards marked with a II back into the 
box (more on p. 8).

Shuffle your 16 cards face down and place them in a stack in front 
of you. This is your draw 
pile. We will call this 
your deck from now on.

Draw the top 5 cards 
from your deck into 
your hand.

Take 2 summary 
cards each. They are 
marked with a  in the 
upper right corner.

Die Karten 
Your decks are identical except for the back.  
A deck consists of 16 cards with the values 1-16. This value is called its 
influence. Each card 
also has an ability 
and belongs to one 
of the four factions.  
Each faction has its 
color and icon:  

   .

1

2

3

4

5

6

Influence

Name Ability

Ability 
type

Faction and  
deck number

Direction of play

Opponent’s 
Deck

Your DeckSpace for your 
discard pile
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Objective and Gameplay
Cardia is a duel. Every round, you play 2 cards 
facing each other. This is called an encounter. 
The played card with the higher influence gains 
a signet . The lower card activates its ability. 

Played cards stay in play and can be affected 
by abilities. Signets that have been won can 
change sides during the course of the game —  
more on that later. 

Place the next cards in the direction of play 
next to the previously placed encounter, so that these cards are also 
opposite each other, and so on. 

The player who first collects 5 
signets  on their cards wins  
the game. 

Round Overview
A game lasts several rounds until one player wins the game. Each 
round consists of 3 phases:

1. Play cards
You each place one card face down and then reveal them 
simultaneously. Then you compare the two cards.

Place cards:      Choose 1 card from your hand and place it face down 
on your side of the play area. You can choose any one of the cards in 
your hand. Your opponent also chooses 1 card and places it opposite 
your card.

Encounter

Your 
card

Oppo- 
nent’s  
card

We recommend you play until one 
player has won 2 games (“best of 
three”).

1. 2. 3.
Activate 
ability

Play 
cards

End of the 
round
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Reveal cards:  Now, reveal your cards at the same time  
and compare their influence. The card that has the 
higher influence wins the encounter.  
Take 1 signet  from the supply and place it onto the 
winning card.

Tie:   If both cards have the same influence, the encounter is a tie and 
no card wins or loses the encounter. Thus, you do not place a signet 
on one of the cards. Skip phase 2 (Activate ability) and continue with 
phase 3 (End of the round). 

2. Activate ability
Only the player whose card loses the current encounter immediately 
activates the ability of the losing card.  
Note: It can be to your advantage to lose an encounter to activate an 
ability.

You must resolve the activated ability to the fullest extent possible 
and including any consequences for other cards. To resolve an ability, 
do what the text on the card says.

Note: You are allowed to play cards whose ability you cannot resolve 
completely or at all.

Important: Only the ability of the card losing the current encounter 
in phase 1 is activated. If this ability causes a card played in a past 
encounter to lose, that card’s ability is not activated.

Important: Some abilities contradict the general rules of the game. In 
such cases, the abilities always take precedence over the general rules. 

There are two types of abilities, each with their distinct icon: 
Instant abilities and  ongoing abilities.  

Some abilities can change the influence of a card (see pp. 10-11).
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Instant ability

When you activate 
an instant 
ability, resolve it 
immediately once. 

Ongoing ability

When you activate an ongoing ability, place an ongoing 
token  on that card. The ongoing ability is in effect 
from now on.
It remains in effect even if the card wins its encounter 
over the course of the game.

If the ongoing token  is ever removed from the card, the ongoing 
ability ceases to be in effect. If an ongoing ability ceases to be in effect, 
immediately resolve any changes that this may entail (including in 
past encounters).

Note: Some abilities allow you to place ongoing tokens on cards already 
in play. This allows you to activate an ongoing ability of a card in a past 
encounter. 

Special case: Tokens   ??   are not limited.  
Should any run out, use any suitable substitute.

Your Saboteur (5) loses this encounter, so  
you activate his ability: Your opponent 
discards the top 2 cards of their deck.  

Your opponent places both cards face up  
onto their discard pile.

In the second encounter, your opponent wins again  
and places a signet  onto their card. 

You activate your Mediator’s (4) ability:  
This encounter is a tie. 
You place an ongoing token   on your Mediator. As 
long as that token stays there, this encounter is a tie. 
Therefore, you return the signet from the opponent’s 
card back to the supply. 
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Modifying influence
Some abilities allow you to add influence to a card. Take 
a modifier ??  with the indicated value from the supply 
and place it on the appropriate card below that card’s 
influence. 
Note: In some cases, you will need several modifiers to represent  
the needed value (e.g., +7 =     ).
The values of all modifiers on a card are immediately added to 
(or subtracted from) that card’s influence. They modify the card’s 
influence as long as they remain on the card.

If this changes the result of an encounter, move the signet  to the 
card that now wins the encounter. In case of a tie, return it to the 
supply.
Remember: The ability of the card that now loses is not activated.

3. End of the round
At the end of the round, draw 1 card from your deck into your hand.

If your deck is empty, you cannot draw any more cards. Do not 
reshuffle your discard pile. You do not lose the game if you cannot 
draw a card.

Note: You always draw exactly 1 card in this phase. Over the course of 
the game, you can have more or fewer than 5 cards in hand.

Then start a new round with phase 1.

You activate your Inventor’s (15) ability:  
Add +3 influence to any one card and -3 influence to 
any other card. 
You choose to add  to your Inventor. You now win 
the encounter, so you take the signet  from the 
opponent’s card and place it onto yours.  
The Djinn’s (16) ability is not activated. 
You then add  to the opponent’s Judge (8) played  
2 rounds earlier. That encounter becomes a tie, so 
you return the signet  to the supply. 
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End of the game
The game ends immediately if one of the following conditions is met:

•	Phase 1: Your opponent cannot play a card. You win the game!

•	Phase 2: You activate an ability that says you win the game.  
You win the game!

•	Phase 3: You have 5 or more signets  on your cards at the end of 
the round. You win the game! 

Tie: If in phase 3 both players have the same number of signets  
(and at least 5), continue playing until one player has more signets 
than the other or wins another way.

Note: Abilities are activated before you count signets.

Special case: If both players cannot play a card in phase 1, the player 
with more signets wins the game. If players are tied for the number of 
signets, the game ends in a draw.

Now you are ready to start playing!  

Detailed example of a round

Phase 1: You and your opponent each place 1 
card face down next to the previous encounter. 
Then you reveal your cards. Your opponent’s 
Clockmaker (11) has more influence than your 
Judge (8). So the Clockmaker  gains 1 signet .

Phase 2: You activate your Judge’s ongoing 
ability: You win all tied encounters (including 
upcoming ones).
You place 1 ongoing token  on your Judge and 
1 signet  each on your cards in the two past 
tied encounters.

Phase 3: You each draw 1 card from your deck.
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Your summary cards have infos and reminders to help you through  
your first game. If you have further questions, check the keyword section 
(pp. 9-11) or a specific card (pp. 11-13).
Once you know the game, you can find ways to switch things up in the 
following section. 

Adjusting the Difficulty
After you have played a few 
games, you can vary the 
game with location cards and 
deck II. To help you choose 
one of the possible  
combinations, there are four 
difficulty levels based on the 
number of . 

Simply add up the of your chosen deck and the shown in the top 
right corner of the chosen location.

Deck I has 0 , Deck II has 1 . Playing without a location, 
has  0 . Die Schauplätze haben 1-3 .

Example: Deck II ( 1 ) +  = 3 .

We recommend you first try a location with 1  using deck I.  
Then gradually increase the difficulty and try new combinations.

Deck II 
The basic rules for a game using deck II are the same; only the 
abilities are different. Place all deck I cards back into the box 
and take all cards marked with a II in the lower right corner.  
Otherwise, setup remains the same (pp. 2-3).

We recommend playing deck II without any location first.
Some deck II cards are explained in detail on pp. 12-13.

Schauplätze - 
Choose 1 location card and place it face up on top of the 
stack. You should be able to remember the direction of play  
by now.

0-1 : Hired Blades in training

2 : Experienced Engineers

3-4 : Mighty Mages

5+ : The Djinn is impressed!
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Each location has a rule that applies for the entire game. We explain 
the individual locations on p. 13.

You are looking for an even greater challenge? At your own risk, you can 
play with more than one location at the same time. 

Combining decks 
Once you are familiar with both decks, you can choose to combine 
them. For example, you could use the yellow cards from deck I, the 
red cards from deck II etc. However, make sure that you are always 
playing with two identical decks. For duels with asymmetric decks, you 
might want to try other magical card games.  

Schlüsselwörter

Influence:
•	If at any point during the game, a card’s influence 

exceeds that of the opposing card, place a signet 
on the higher card and return any signets from the 
opposing card to the supply.

•	Multiple modifiers (positive and negative) on the same card are 
added together. Place only the sum on the card. The influence of a 
card can be negative.

•	If an ability adds a modifier to the “next card you play”, place that 
modifier next to your card in the current encounter in the direction 
of play. As soon as you reveal your next card, place that modifier on 
it. The modifier is immediately added to the new card’s influence and 
already counts when comparing cards in phase 1. 

•	You cannot place modifiers on cards in hand, a deck or a discard pile.

You activate the Clockmaker’s (11) 
ability: Add +3 influence to your 
card in the previous encounter as 
well as to the next card you play. 

You place  onto your Surgeon (3) 
in the previous encounter. Then 
you place  on the table on the 
space for your next card.
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Discard: 
Some abilities force you to discard cards from 
your hand, your deck or played cards. 
You can no longer use discarded cards. 

•	Place cards you discard face up into your discard pile. Return any 
tokens on a discarded card to the supply. You can look through your 
and your opponent’s discard piles at any time.

•	If both cards in a past encounter are discarded, shift all cards in later 
encounters one position to close the gap. 

Copy and activate:  You copy another card’s ability and 
activate it, as if the copied ability were printed on this card.

Activate:  You activate another card’s ability (at the position 
of that other card). If you activate an ongoing ability, place an 
ongoing token on the card as usual.

Played card:   A card that is face up in the play area (including the 
current encounter). Discarded cards no longer count as played cards.  
“One of your played cards” must be a card that you have played. “Any 
card” can be one of your cards or one of your opponent’s cards.  

Previous encounter:   The encounter next to this one against the 
direction of play. 

Past encounters:  All encounters in play before this one against the 
direction of play. 

Following encounter:  The encounter in play that follows this one 
in the direction of play (not the next encounter, which has not yet been 
played).
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Mediator: If the ongoing token is removed, the ability ceases to be in 
effect and the card with the higher influence immediately wins this 
encounter.

Judge: Place 1 signet onto your card in every encounter that is a tie. 
You also win ties in encounters played from now on. As usual, the 

ability of the other card is not triggered. If any encounter ceases to be a tie, the 
card with the higher influence immediately wins that encounter. If this ability 
ceases to be in effect, remove all signets placed due to this ability. 
This ability does not make you win a tie for number of signets (phase 3). If both 
players have a Judge with an ongoing token on it, both win all tied encounters.

Deck I clarifications
Hired Blade: Both this card and the opposing card count as played. 
Then discard both cards (see Discard cards on p. 10).

Puppeteer: The influence of the drawn card determines who wins 
this encounter. If the drawn card has a lower influence than your 

Puppeteer, its ability is not activated (you have already activated an ability in the 
current encounter - that of your Puppeteer).
If you cannot replace the discarded card because your opponent has no cards 
in hand, it counts as them being unable to play, so you win the game.

Clockmaker: If there is no previous encounter, ignore the first part of 
the ability. Resolve the second part as usual.

Treasurer: Place an additional signet on the card. This can also be your 
opponent’s card. It remains there as long as the ability is in effect.

Current 
encounter

Direction 
of play

Your  
cards

Oppo- 
nent’s  
cards

Opposing card 

Previous  
encounter

Next  
encounter
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Swamp Guardian: At the end of the round, draw 1 card as usual. You end 
up with one more card in hand.

Magistra: You must choose one of your played cards that has at least 
as much influence as your Magistra at this moment (including any 
modifiers). Resolve the copied ability as if was your Magistra’s and 
activate it at the Magistra’s position.

Inventor: You may place a modifier on the Inventor herself as well as on 
the opposing card.

Djinn: You immediately win the game. Even if your opponent has 5 or 
more signets (as the number of signets is checked later, in phase 3).

Deck II clarifications
Poisoner: If this card’s or the opposing card’s influence changes later in 
the game, this ability is not activated again.

Kinesis Mage: You must take all modifiers and ongoing tokens from one 
of your cards. Then place all of them onto one other of your played 

cards (you may place them on the Kinesis mage himself). You may not split them 
up. If you place an ongoing token onto a card with an ongoing ability that is 
currently not active, it is activated immediately.

Envoy: You may place the modifier on the Envoy himself or on the 
opposing card.

Prodigy: As usual, all modifiers are taken into account.  
You may place the modifier on the Prodigy himself.

Blackmailer: Your opponent must discard 2 cards from their hand 
before you carry out phase 2. If they don’t have enough cards in hand, 
they discard as many as they can.

Illusionist: You resolve the chosen ability as usual. Any positions 
referenced in that ability are resolved in relation to that card, not to 
the Illusionist (see p. 17). It does not matter whether the chosen ability 
has been activated in an earlier round.

Counselor: You win the previous encounter even if it is a tie.

Mechanical Djinn: If the following encounter is discarded, the closest 
encounter in the direction of play now counts as the following 
encounter (see pp. 10-11).
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Locations

Serpent Temple: It does not matter if you lose that encounter 
again over the course of the game.

Grand Library: If there is only 1 card left in your deck, draw that 
card as usual. If your deck is empty, you don’t draw any cards.  

Bazaar: It’s only at the end of a round that you do not draw cards. 
If an ability makes you draw a card, draw as usual. If you have  
0 or 1 cards in hand, immediately draw (in any phase).

Founder’s Day: You need to have winning cards in 3 successive 
encounters. This win condition can be triggered in any phase. 
If you have more than 1 signet on a card, it still only counts as 
winning 1 encounter. 

Scrapyard: Ignore this effect if you have 0 or 1 cards remaining 
in your deck. If you have 2 cards in your deck, draw both and 
place 1 back.

Auction House: This effect is triggered after revealing cards in 
phase 1. All tokens on that card are taken into account. If your 
current card has the same influence as your previous card, you 
do not discard. The effect only applies to cards you play yourself. 
If your deck is empty, ignore the effect.

Haunted Catacombs: This effect only triggers when you reveal 
a card in phase 1. It doesn’t matter if the card is discarded 
afterwards. You don’t lose if cards of the same faction end up 
next to each other as the result of an ability. 

Foggy Swamp: In the first round of the game, do not reveal cards. 
You can peek at your own face-down card at any time. Abilities 
referencing “the next card you play” always mean the next card 
you choose to play from your hand (not the one that you have 
already placed face-down).

This didn’t anwer your question? You can find FAQs and  
special cases here:www.hans-im-glueck.de/en/cardia
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overview of game end
The game ends & you win if:

• your opponent cannot play a card (phase 1)

• an ability says you win (phase 2)

• you have 5 or more signets (phase 3)

See p. 7


